WhatsApp has been long-rumoured to be working on a recall feature and now that it is here, we can breathe a sigh of relief, or cheer.
WABetainfo now reports that the new feature which was reportedly called ‘Delete for Everyone’ has started rolling out to some users on Android, iPhone, and Windows Phone apps. The feature only works if both the recipient and sender have the latest version of WhatsApp installed, and it also works on WhatsApp Web.
The most requested feature will be called ‘Delete for Everyone’ and several users have already started noticing the feature in the latest WhatsApp version when they press the trash symbol. Alongside Delete for Everyone, users will also see the Delete for Me option, if they only want to delete the message from their phone.
It adds that the rollout is slow and it may take some time to reach everyone. The feature also only works within 7 minutes of sending the message. Deleted messages will be replaced by “This message was deleted for everyone.”
Separately, for Android users, WhatsApp beta version 2.17.397 is now out and it adds new emojis for users.